#TenOne: National Actions for Medicare for All

MedicareforAll.jpg

This year marks the 50th anniversary of Medicare. As medical students, part of our mission is to ensure that everyone who needs care gets it. One way to achieve this goal is by improving the Medicare program and expanding it to cover all Americans.

We urge our fellow students and the public to join us for this #TenOne: Medicare-for-All National Day of Action on Thursday, Oct. 1, to bring national attention to our failing health care system and the need for single-payer health reform.

For more of the thinking behind the #TenOne initiative, including patient stories, please read these posts on SNaHP’s official blog by medical students Vanessa Van Doren and Bryant Shuey.

#TenOne Local Events

*Participating campuses and their SNaHP chapter leaders are updated daily.

October 1, 2015 – All are welcome to participate in the following events:

CALIFORNIA

Touro University California: Matthew Musselman [matthew.musselman@tu.edu]

UC Davis School of Medicine: Umer Waris [uawaris@gmail.com], Keyon Mitchell [keyonrmitchell@gmail.com], Callum Rowe [callumjrowe@gmail.com]

FLORIDA

Florida Atlantic University College of Medicine: Timothy Ryan [timoteo.ryan@gmail.com]

ILLINOIS

Chicago Medical Schools Coalition:

UChicago: Scott Goldberg [sgoldberg28@gmail.com];

UIC:Kieran Holzhauer [kholzh2@uic.edu];

Rush Medical College: Jordan_Centers@rush.edu

Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine: Jillian Caldwell [jcaldwell49@midwestern.edu]

IOWA

University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine: Lisa Wehr [lisa-wehr@uoiwa.edu]

KENTUCKY

University of Louisville School of Medicine: Brandi Jones [brandi.jones@louisville.edu]

MAINE

University of New England College of Osteopathic Medicine: Natasha Neal [nneal@une.edu]

MASSACHUSETTS

Boston University School of Medicine: Andy Hyatt [ashyatt@bu.edu]

MINNESOTA

University of Minnesota Medical School – Duluth: Tim Roos [roosx040@umn.edu]

NEW MEXICO

University of New Mexico School of Medicine: Bryant Shuey [bryantshuey@gmail.com]

NEW YORK

PNHP NY METRO (coordinators): Becca Mahn (becca@pnhpnymetro.org) and Katie Robbins (katie@pnhpnymetro.org)

Albany Medical College: Justin Pegueros [peguerj@mail.amc.edu]

Albert Einstein College of Medicine: Tauhid Mahmud [mahmud@mail.einstein.yu.edu] and Dahlia Kenway [kenawy@mail.einstein.yu.edu]

Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health: Michael Zingman [maz2127@columbia.edu]

Icahn School of Medicine at Mt. Sinai: Alice Shen [alice.shen@icahn.mssm.edu]

New York University School of Medicine: David Wang [david.wang@med.nyu.edu] and David Collins [david.collins@med.nyu.edu]

SUNY Downstate: Keriann Shalvoy [kshalvoy@gmail.com]

OHIO

Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine: Vanessa Van Doren [vev5@case.edu]

PENNSYLVANIA

Philadelphia Medical Schools Coalition: Emily Kirchner [emily.kirchner@temple.edu] at Temple; Tony Spadaro [tspadaro50@gmail.com] and Dorothy Charles [dorothy.charles@uphs.upenn.edu] at Penn

TENNESSEE

University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Medicine: Diana Alsbrook [dalsbro2@uthsc.edu]

VERMONT

University of Vermont College of Medicine: Kelsey Sullivan [khammon1@med.uvm.edu]

WASHINGTON

University of Washington School of Medicine: Darius Fullmer [darius.fullmer@gmail.com]

WISCONSIN

University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health: Sarah Zoutendam [zoutendam@wisc.edu] and Zeeshan Yacoob [yacoob@wisc.edu]

This project was initiated by Students for a National Health Program (SNaHP), the student arm of Physicians for a National Health Program (www.pnhp.org), an organization of more than 19,000 physicians, health professionals, medical and health professional students who advocate for universal, single-payer, improved Medicare for all. For more information, click here.

WHEN
October 01, 2015 at 8am - October 02, 2015

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

Leaderboard

1
+359sc earned social capital
2
+139sc earned social capital
3
+132sc earned social capital
4
+109sc earned social capital
5
+100sc earned social capital
6
+84sc earned social capital
7
+80sc earned social capital
8
+78sc earned social capital
9
+71sc earned social capital
10
+68sc earned social capital
11
+68sc earned social capital
12
+67sc earned social capital
13
+64sc earned social capital
14
+64sc earned social capital
15
+62sc earned social capital
16
+60sc earned social capital
17
+60sc earned social capital
18
+60sc earned social capital
19
+60sc earned social capital
20
+60sc earned social capital